

NANTUCKET TOWN ASSOCIATION ANNUAL MEETING

September 27, 2022, at 4:00 pm Meeting held by Zoom conferencing

FINAL AND APPROVED MINUTES

Attendance (Participants as noted by Zoom): Gussie Beaugrand, Trish Bridier, Barbara Cohen, Tris Dammin, Mary Anne Easley, Suzanne Kennedy, Mary Longacre, Malcolm MacNab, Lee Saperstein, Bill Seay, Anne Terry, Henry Terry, Barbara von der Groeben, Charley Walters, Paula Williams.

Guest: Samantha Aguiar, Atheneum.

Thanks to the Atheneum, Samantha Aguiar, for hosting the meeting. which was recorded and the link to YouTube is included here: . https://youtu.be/E-8wU4qFmdI.

I. Call the September 27, 2022, Nantucket Town Association Annual Meeting to Order.

President Henry Terry called the meeting to order at 4:03 pm. He announced that the meeting is being recorded and those who could not attend are welcome to use the above link to watch the recording. He also announced that, to avoid conflicts with the Open Meeting Law, there would be no discussion of the Nantucket Town small area plan because members of that working group are in attendance at today's meeting and no agenda for it has been posted.

II. Approval of minutes of the Meeting of August 23, 2022.

Henry Terry asked for approval of the minutes of the meeting of August 23, 2022; Trish Bridier moved approval of the minutes, Barbara von der Groeben seconded them, and the vote to approve was unanimous.

III. Treasurer's Report.

Anne Terry, Treasurer, gave the Treasurer's report, attached. There were dues payments of \$125.00 and no deductions, which made a new balance of \$\$3,943.50. A motion to approve was made by Mary Longacre, seconded by Trish Bridier, and approved unanimously. Lee Saperstein noted that this was Anne Terry's last meeting as Treasurer and expressed thanks for her service.

IV. Election of Officers.

Barbara Cohen, nomination committee chair, presented a slate of officers for consideration for 2022-2023, attached. Henry Terry asked if there were any comments or additional nominations. There was none so he moved to the election. Paula Williams moved approval of the slate, Anne Terry seconded it, and approval was unanimous.

V. Guest Speaker. David Gray, Director, Sewer Department.

Unfortunately, David Gray was unable to attend the meeting. It was suggested that his main topic would be the installation of the new force main from the Sea Street pumping station to the sewer beds at New South Road. It was noted that he made a presentation recently at the Congregational Church. Lee Saperstein guessed that it was similar to the material on the Town's web site: https://nantucket-ma.gov/1930/Sea-Street-3rd-Sewer-Force-Main-Project. That page has a link to the presentation made on September 15, 2022, which has 25 PowerPoint slides: https://nantucket-ma.gov/DocumentCenter/View/43125/Sea-Street-3rd-Sewer-Force-Main-Project-Outreach-Meeting---September-15-2022-PDF.

Old Business. Anne Terry asked if anyone present had concerns for short-term rentals on their street. Several said that they did not, including one who said that the house, which formerly housed short-term rentals, had been sold to a private owner. Anne Terry said that she asked the question because there had been problems with a house on Academy Lane.

New Business.

None.

VII. Adjournment.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:15 pm by motion from Trish Bridier, seconded by Paula Williams, and approved unanimously.

*Next meeting is October 25, 2022, and will be via Zoom unless a decision to hold an inperson meeting is made; more information will be forthcoming with the next agenda; if one uses Zoom, registration is available at the following address: https://us02web.zoom.us/meeting/register/tZwrcOCsqi0iH9CoJJCY4FXOdz-tHfyynBrX.

Lee W. Saperstein, Secretary, saperste@mst.edu.

NANTUCKET TOWN ASSOCIATION

Treasurer's Report Sept 27, 2022

Beginning Balance \$3,818.50

Deposits Dues

Dues \$125.00

Expenditures None

End Balance \$3,943.50

NTA 2022-2023

Proposed Slate of Officers

Officers

Henry Terry President

Barbara Von Der Groeben 1st Vice President

Barbara G. Cohen 2nd Vice President

Lee Saperstein Recording Secretary

Mary Anne Easley Corresponding Secretary

Advisor

Mary Longacre Treasurer

Trish Bridier Clerk

Directors

Gail Norton Charley Walters

Marsha Fader C. Richard Loftin

Bill Seay Alexandra La Paglia

Paula Williams

Craig Muhlhauser

Peggy Altreuter